HL and GL

The word horā is derived from aho-rātra by removing the first (a) and last (tra) syllables. The word aho means day and rātra means night thereby referring to the division of the day into the two parts of day and night. The day is lorded by the Sun and the night is lorded by the Moon, being the most brilliant luminaries in the sky at these times. Consider the seven
planets having physical bodies (i.e. from the Sun to Saturn) that lord over the weekdays. If the luminaries (Sun & Moon) are represented by the word horā in aho-rātra, then

Continue Reading

Viśeṣa Lagna

Viśeṣa lagna are enumerated by Maharṣi Parāśara and we start with understanding the meaning of the word ‘viśeṣa’ which means special, having a peculiarity. These viśeṣa lagna are different from the lagna in that they have a completely circular motion at uniform speed. It is the speed, relative to the average speed of the lagna that determines the bhāva they map to. For example, the Lagna moves 12 signs in 24 hours of the day and its ‘average speed’ is 2 hours per sign. The Bhāva Lagna (BL) has this exact uniform speed of 2 hours per sign. Therefore

Continue Reading


A Nakṣatra or lunar mansion is one of the 27/28 divisions of the sky, identified by the prominent star(s) in them, used in Vedic astrology. Historical (medieval) Hindu astrology enumerated either 27 or 28 nakṣatras depending on the system of usage. It is generally always 27 unless sarvatobhadra or such chakra is being used. Each nakṣatra is divided into quarters or padas of 3°20’. Since everything originates from sound, these pada which form

Location (Sidereal Longitude)
Pada 1
Pada 2
Pada 3
Pada 4

Aśvinī (अश्विनी)
0 – 13°20′ Aries
चु Chu
चे Che

Continue Reading